GENERAL INFORMATION
WELFARE PLAN
  BENEFIT HIGHLIGHTS
  ELIGIBLE DEPENDENTS
  DESCRIPTION OF BENEFITS
  GENERAL EXCLUSIONS
  COORDINATION OF BENEFITS
  GENERAL INFORMATION
  PAY-DIRECT COVERAGE
  EXTENSION OF MAJOR MEDICAL AND DEATH BENEFITS ON AN EMPLOYEES' DEATH
  EXTENTION OF MAJOR MEDICAL AND DENTAL BEFEFITS IF SICK OR DISABLED
  NO BREAK IN SERVICE ARRANGEMENT
  DESIGNATION OF A BENEFICIARY
  BENEFITS PERTAINING TO PENSIONERS
  TERMINATED FORMER EMPLOYEES
  HOW TO SUBMIT CLAIMS
  TERMINATION OF WELFARE COVERAGE
  FUTURE OF THE PLAN
PENSION PLAN
MEMBER BENEFIT BOOKLET
 

 

WELFARE AND PENSION PLANS

Welfare Plan

BENEFITS PERTAINING TO PENSIONERS

 

(a)       Eligibility of Pensioners for Welfare Plan Benefits After Retirement

To be entitled to Welfare Plan benefits at retirement you must have completed 3 years of Continuous Service within the 10-year period immediately prior to retirement and a total of 20 years participation in the Plan. 

If you do not qualify for Welfare Plan benefits under this provision, and you are retiring from active employment in the Elevator Industry, your Spouse, designated beneficiary or estate will be entitled to a  $10,000 Death Benefit on your death.

(b)       Welfare Plan Benefits After Retirement

Effective October 1, 2016: When a Member retires on or after reaching age 55, have completed 3 years of Continuous Service within 10-year period immediately prior to retirement and have a total of 20 years’ participation in the Plan:

Currently, if his/her monthly pension is less than $2,000 the Member will be required to contribute $95 per month, plus applicable taxes, towards the cost of Major Medical and Dental benefits. If his/her monthly pension is $2,000 or more the Member will be required to contribute $120 (previously $110

(c)       Welfare Plan Benefits on Disability Retirement

Notwithstanding (a) above, if you are in receipt of a Disability Retirement Pension, your coverage for all Welfare Plan benefits, except AD&D benefits, Weekly Indemnity benefits and Long Term Disability benefits, will continue by contributing $ 95 per month, plus applicable taxes. From the date of your disability retirement until age 65, if you die, your nominated beneficiary or Estate will be entitled to a Life Insurance benefit and a Death Benefit of $10,000.   The amount of the Life Insurance benefit depends upon the date on which you became eligible for a Disability Retirement Pension.  If you die after age 65, only the Death Benefit of $10,000 is payable. If you die after the date of your disability retirement, your widow(er) and dependents will be covered for the same Major Medical and Dental Benefits as prior to your death by contributing $ 95 per month, plus applicable taxes.

(d)       Employees Who Retire From Active Employment in the Elevator Industry and Do Not Qualify For Welfare Plan Benefits Under Paragraph (a)

Effective October 1, 2016: If a Member is retiring from active employment in Elevator Industry and is a participating member of the Plan, but does not qualify under paragraph (a) i.e. completed 3 years of continuous service within the 10-year period immediately prior to retirement and a total of 20 years of participation in the Plan, the Member may continue his/her Major Medical and Dental coverages, he/she will be required to contribute:

  • $120 per month, plus applicable taxes, if the monthly pension is less than $2,000
  • $145 (previously $135) per month, plus applicable taxes, if the monthly pension is $2,000 or more.

(e)      Continuation of Welfare Plan Benefits After Retirement

In order to be entitled to receive Welfare Plan benefits, you must maintain your membership in good standing of the applicable Local Union of the International Union of Elevator Constructors.
If you retire from active employment and are no longer within the scope of the Collective Agreements and are in receipt of a pension from the Pension Plan, you will be entitled to receive the Welfare Plan benefits as stipulated in this booklet. However, if you return to employment in the Elevator Industry and work for an Employer who is not bound by one of the Collective Agreements, all Welfare Plan benefits shall immediately cease.

If you are less than 65 years of age and decide to return to employment with any participating Employer or any entity which is related to, or affiliated with that participating Employer, whether in Covered Employment or employment which is not covered under a Collective Agreement within 6 months of the payment of the first instalment of your pension benefit, your retirement will be deemed not to be bona fide, your pension will be cancelled and you will not receive any further pension benefit payments while you remain in such employment.

If you are expelled from a Local Union of the International Union of Elevator Constructors, any entitlement to Welfare Plan benefits shall immediately cease.

 


 

   

READ CAREFULLY, BUT REMEMBER…

This is a general outline of the Plans and its purpose is to explain as briefly and clearly as possible each of the benefits to which you are entitled. The benefits outlined under the Plans are subject to the terms and conditions of the Plan documents and Group Master Policies. If there is any conflict between this outline and the Plan documents and Group Master Policies, the Plan documents and Group Master Policies will apply in all cases. Also remember that no benefits are guaranteed and that the benefits can be changed by the Trustees at any time.

 
FAQ's | Contacts | Table of Contents | Français

INFORMATIONS GÉNÉRALES
PLAN DE BIEN-ÊTRE
  FAITS MARQUANTS DE PRESTATIONS
  PERSONNES À CHARGE ADMISSIBLES
  DESCRIPTION DES PRESTATIONS
  EXCLUSIONS GÉNÉRALES
  COORDINATION DES PRESTATIONS
  RENSEIGNEMENTS GÉNÉRAUX
  PAIEMENT DIRECT DE LA COUVERTURE
  PROLONGATION DES PRESTATIONS DU RÉGIME COMPLÉMENTAIRE D'ASSURANCE MALADIE ET DENTAIRE EN CAS DE DÉCÈS DE L'EMPLOYÉ
  PROLONGATION DES PRESTATIONS DU RÉGIME COMPLÉMENTAIRE D'ASSURANCE MALADIE ET DENTAIRE EN CAS DE MALADIE OU D'INVALIDITÉ
  ACCORD DE SERVICE SANS INTERRUPTION
  DÉSIGNATION DE BÉNÉFICIAIRE
  PRESTATIONS CONCERNANT LES RETRAITÉS
  ANCIENS SALARIÉS TERMINATED
  COMMENT SOUMETTRE LES DEMANDES DE RÈGLEMENT
  FIN DE LA COUVERTURE D'AVANTAGES SOCIAUX
  AVENIR DU RÉGIME
RÉGIME DE RETRAITE
AVANTAGES MEMBRES LIVRET
 

 

RÉGIMES D'AVANTAGES SOCIAUX ET DE RETRAITE

PLAN DE RETOMBÉES

PRESTATIONS CONCERNANT LES RETRAITÉS

a)     Admissibilité des retraités aux prestations du régime d’avantages sociaux après la retraite

Pour avoir droit aux prestations du régime d’avantages sociaux à la retraite, vous devez avoir effectué trois années de service continu pendant la période de 10 ans précédant immédiatement la retraite, ainsi qu’un total de 20 années de participation au régime.
Si vous n’êtes pas admissible aux prestations du régime d’avantages sociaux en vertu de cette disposition et si vous quittez le service actif au sein de l’industrie des ascenseurs, votre conjoint, votre bénéficiaire désigné ou votre succession aura droit à une prestation de 10 000 $ lors de votre décès.

b)     Prestations du régime d’avantages sociaux après la retraite

En vigueur le 1er octobre 2016 : Lorsque un membre prends son retraite à compter de l'âge de 55 ans, il/elle a accompli 3 années de service continu dans les 10 ans précédant immédiatement son retraite et il/elle a 20 ans de participation au Régime:
Si son rente mensuelle est inférieure à 2 000 $, il/elle devient verser 95 $ par mois, plus les taxes applicables,  pour  le  coût  des prestations médicales et dentaires. Si son rente mensuelle est de 2 000 $ ou plus, il/elle devient verser 120 $ (auparavant 110 $) par mois, plus les taxes applicables, pour couvrir le coût de ces prestations.

c)    Régime d’avantages sociaux dans le cadre d’une retraite pour invalidité

Nonobstant la section a) ci-dessus, si vous êtes prestataire d’un régime de pension d’invalidité, votre couverture pour toutes les prestations du régime d’avantages sociaux, à l’exception des prestations d’assurance en cas de décès ou de mutilation par accident, des prestations d’indemnité hebdomadaires et des prestations d’invalidité de longue durée, se poursuivront moyennant une cotisation de 95 $ par mois plus les taxes applicables. À partir de la date de votre retraite pour invalidité jusqu’à 65 ans, si vous décédez, votre bénéficiaire désigné ou votre succession sera admissible à des prestations d’assurance-vie et à une prestation de décès de 10 000 $. Le montant des prestations de l’assurance-vie dépend de la date à laquelle vous êtes devenu admissible au régime de retraite pour invalidité. Si vous décédez après 65 ans, seule la prestation de décès de 10 000 $ est payable. Si vous décédez après votre retraite pour invalidité, votre veuf/veuve et vos personnes à charges seront couvertes par les mêmes prestations du régime complémentaire d’assurance maladie et dentaire qu’avant votre décès, en continuant à verser 95 $ par mois, plus les taxes applicables.

d)    Employés qui quittent le service actif de l’industrie des constructeurs d’ascenseurs et qui ne sont pas admissibles aux prestations du régime d’avantages sociaux en vertu de la section a) ci-dessus

En vigueur le 1er octobre 2016 : Si un membre quitte le service actif au sein de l’industrie des constructeurs d’ascenseurs et est un membre participant du régime, mais qu'il ne remplit pas les conditions requises en paragraphe a) c'est-à-dire qu'il a accompli 3 années de service continu au cours de la période de 10 ans immédiatement avant la retraite et a accompli 20 ans de participation au Régime, le membre peut continuer ses cotisations médicales et dentaires, il sera tenu de contribuer:

  • 120 $ par mois, plus les taxes applicables, si la pension mensuelle est inférieure à 2 000 $
  • 145 $ (auparavant 135 $) par mois, plus les taxes applicables, si la pension mensuelle est de 2 000 $ ou plus.

.

e)    Prolongation du régime d’avantages sociaux après la retraite

Afin d’être admissible aux prestations du régime d’avantages sociaux, vous devez rester membre en règle du bureau la section locale applicable de l’Union internationale des constructeurs d’ascenseurs.
Si vous quittez le service actif, n’êtes plus couvert par l’entente collective et recevez une rente du régime de retraite, vous êtes admissible aux prestations du régime d’avantages sociaux, tel que cela est décrit dans le présent guide. Toutefois, si vous reprenez le service dans l’industrie des constructeurs d’ascenseurs et travaillez pour un employeur qui n’est pas lié par une convention collective, toutes les prestations du régime d’avantages sociaux cesseront immédiatement.

Si vous avez moins de 65 ans et décidez de reprendre un emploi chez un employeur participant quel qu’il soit ou dans tout organisme associé ou affilié à l’employeur participant, que cet emploi soit assurable ou ne bénéficie pas d’une convention collective, dans les six mois du paiement de votre première prestation de retraite, votre retraite sera réputée de mauvaise foi, votre rente de retraite sera annulée et vous ne recevrez aucune autre prestation de retraite tant que vous occuperez ledit emploi.
Si vous êtes expulsé d’un syndicat local de l’Union internationale des constructeurs d’ascenseurs, toute admissibilité au régime d’avantages sociaux cessera immédiatement.

 


 

   

VEUILLEZ LIRE ATTENTIVEMENT MAIS N'OUBLIEZ PAS QUE…

Ce livret décrit les grandes lignes des régimes et vise à expliquer aussi brièvement et clairement que possible chacun des avantages auxquels vous êtes admissible. Les avantages en vertu des régimes sont assujettis aux modalités des documents du régime et des polices maîtresses d'assurance collective. En cas de conflit entre cette description et les documents du régime et les polices maîtresses d'assurance collective, les documents du régime et les polices maîtresses d'assurance collective prévalent dans tous les cas. N'oubliez pas qu'aucun avantage n'est garanti et que les fiduciaires peuvent changer les avantages à tout moment.

 

 
FAQ's | Contacts | Table Des Matières | Anglais