GENERAL INFORMATION
WELFARE PLAN
  BENEFIT HIGHLIGHTS
  ELIGIBLE DEPENDENTS
  DESCRIPTION OF BENEFITS
  LIFE INSURANCE
  ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT BENEFITS
  WEEKLY INDEMNITY
  LONG TERM DISABILITY
  MAJOR MEDICAL BENEFITS
  DENTAL BENEFITS
  EMERGENCY OUT OF PROVINCE
  MEMBER AND FAMILY ASSISTANCE PLAN
  GENERAL EXCLUSIONS
  COORDINATION OF BENEFITS
  GENERAL INFORMATION
  PAY-DIRECT COVERAGE
  EXTENSION OF MAJOR MEDICAL AND DEATH BENEFITS ON AN EMPLOYEES' DEATH
  EXTENTION OF MAJOR MEDICAL AND DENTAL BEFEFITS IF SICK OR DIABLED
  NO BREAK IN SERVICE ARRANGEMENT
  DESIGNATION OF A BENEFICIARY
  BENEFITS PERTAINING TO PENSIONERS
  TERMINATED FORMER EMPLOYEES
  HOW TO SUBMIT CLAIMS
  TERMINATION OF WELFARE COVERAGE
  FUTURE OF THE PLAN
PENSION PLAN
MEMBER BENEFIT BOOKLET
 

 

WELFARE AND PENSION PLANS

Welfare Plan

DESCRIPTION OF BENEFITS


Major Medial Benefits (Employees and Dependents)

BOOKLET ADDENDUM

Effective December 1, 2014: Emergency Dental benefit is added to the Welfare Plan.

Eligible expenses for necessary dental treatment required as a result of an accidental injury to natural teeth provided the accident occurred while covered and subject to a maximum of $1,500 per calendar year per covered person.  As determined by the Plan Administrator, only such charges directly related to such an accidental injury are considered a covered health expense. The dental work must begin within 6 months of the accident and must be completed within 12 months of the accident to be considered a covered health expense (this limit is waived for dependent children, subject to receipt of a written report from the attending dentist outlining the treatment plan).

Note: Where there exists more than one customarily employed and professionally adequate method of treating the accidental injury to the teeth, the Plan Administrator reserves the right to determine eligible expenses on the basis of an alternate benefit, i.e. coverage is limited to the cost of the lowest priced alternate course of treatment.

Effective July 1, 2015: Hearing Aid coverage is changed from $1,500 Lifetime maximum to $1,500 every 5 years.

Effective March 1, 2016:Occupational Therapy is added as eligible paramedical expenses.
The benefit is subject to a maximum of $50 per treatment. There is no limit to the number of visits, but the benefit is subject to a maximum of $2,000 in a calendar year for all paramedical practitioners combined.

Chiropractor, Acupuncturist, Naturopath, Massage Therapist, Athletic Therapist, Occupational Therapist, Osteopath, Physiotherapist, Speech Therapist, Podiatrist or Chiropodist.
Physician's prescription is not required.

Major Medical Benefits (Employees and Dependents)

 

The specified Major Medical expenses are payable provided they are reasonable and customary, needed for medical care and provided they are not covered by your Provincial Medicare Plan up to an Overall Lifetime Maximum of $25,000 per covered person. When this maximum is reached, each covered person will be reimbursed up to a maximum of $5,000 per year thereafter. Note: these maximums do not apply to the Prescription Drug or Vision Care benefit.

The following expenses are covered at 100%, except as noted otherwise:

Prescription Drug Benefits

  • Reasonable and customary charges incurred for medically necessary drugs and medicines specified below.
  • Such drugs and medicines must be obtained only by prescription from a person entitled by law to prescribe them and dispensed by a licensed pharmacist, physician or other health care practitioner authorized by provincial legislation to dispense them.

No benefit shall be payable for any single purchase of drugs which would not reasonably be used within 90 days from the date of purchase.

  • Eligible Drug Expenses:
  • All generic drugs and life sustaining medications
  • Diabetic supplies such as needles, syringes, test strips, lancets and solutions
  • For retired members age 65 years and older, prescription drug costs in excess of that paid by a provincial drug plan, including any required annual premiums
  • Smoking cessation products will be reimbursed at 75% up to a maximum of $500 per calendar year
  • Erectile dysfunction drugs up to the maximum of $1,000 per calendar year
  • Oral contraceptives

 

  • Generic Drugs
  • If there is a generic substitute for the drug the covered person has been prescribed, the Welfare Plan will reimburse only up to the cost of the lowest priced generic equivalents regardless of whether the brand name or the generic equivalent is purchased.
  • If, for any reason, the covered person’s health care practitioner insists the covered person receive a certain brand name medication, the words “no substitution” must be included on the prescription.  The covered person will be reimbursed based on the cost of the brand name drug upon proof that the covered person’s health care practitioner has specified “no substitution.”
  • Ingredient Cost:

For drugs listed in the provincial Drug Benefit Formulary and Limited Use Drugs the ingredient cost will be limited to the current Formulary price plus a mark-up. For all other drugs the ingredient cost will be limited to the pricing followed by the major drug wholesaler in the applicable province, plus a mark-up.

  • Dispensing Fee:

There is a dispensing fee maximum eligible expense of $8.50 per prescription. Maintenance drugs are limited to one dispensing fee for each 90-day supply. Drug compounds, solutions, creams and mixtures will be reimbursed to a maximum of $30 for the professional fee. A drug compound is a special medication made from a mixture of drugs.

  • Prescription Drug Exclusions:
  • Over the counter medications or drugs for which a prescription is not required by law (federal or provincial)
  • Fertility drugs or drugs to promote abortion
  • Drugs which are not considered medically necessary, e.g. cosmetic or weight loss/lifestyle, unless they are approved under the Express Scripts Canada Prescription Drug Plan – Prior Authorization Procedure
  • Vitamins (injectable or oral) unless they legally require a prescription
  • Alcohol swabs
  • Medication which is provided and administered by a health care practitioner (unless they legally require a prescription)
  • Hospital Funded/Administered drugs are not covered by the Welfare Plan
  • HIV/AIDS medications
  • Contraceptive devices

 

Prior Authorization
  • Prior Authorization of medically prescribed drugs will be required for any drug that has multiple indications and/or new drugs entering the market after January 1, 2005. A prior authorization will be required to ensure that the drug is being administered for medical purposes only, prior to the payment of the drug.
  • Prior Authorization will also be required for new drugs entering the market by having the covered person’s health care practitioner confirm that this new more costly drug is necessary over the current medications being prescribed. The Prior Authorization will be needed before new drugs are paid for by the Welfare Plan.
Maintenance Drugs
  • These are drugs which you or your eligible dependent have been taking for at least 6 months and which you or your dependent are required to take for a long period of time for a particular condition.  Some examples of maintenance medications include blood pressure medication, heart medication, and thyroid pills.
  • Note:  The Welfare Plan will only cover one dispensing fee every 90 days for maintenance medication.

 

  • Important Note:  If You (Or Your Spouse) Are Age 65 or Over

For residents of all provinces, other than Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador: It is mandatory that you enrol in the provincial health plan for prescription drug coverage upon attaining age 65.  Any portion of a claim not covered by the covered person’s provincial plan may be paid through this Plan’s prescription drug benefits in conjunction with the Canadian Elevator Industry Welfare Plan rules.
In provinces where a premium payment is required to continue your provincial health plan coverage, the Canadian Elevator Industry Welfare Plan will reimburse you the cost of the provincial drug plan premium after you submit your paid receipt for reimbursement.
In Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador, a private plan is the first payor, so the Canadian Elevator Industry Welfare Plan will cover the eligible drug expenses. Any premium payment required to continue a covered person’s provincial health plan coverage will not be reimbursed under this Plan.

  • Charges for Standard Hospital accommodation (room and board only) for an unlimited period if not covered by a provincial health plan.
  • Charges for the following professional ambulance services for transportation to and from a Hospital for confinement:
  • Licensed ground ambulance service, when medically necessary, to transport the patient to the nearest hospital equipped to provide the required treatment
  • Emergency air ambulance service to the nearest hospital equipped to provide the required treatment when the physical condition of the patient prevents the use of another means of transportation, and, if the patient requires the services of a registered nurse during the flight, the services and return air fare for the registered nurse.
  • Charges for services provided upon the prescription of a Physician by a Convalescent Hospital to which the patient is transferred after confinement as a Hospital bed-patient for at least three days (but not for rehabilitation or custodial care).
  • Charges for the following services or supplies prescribed by a Physician unless provided by the hospital or other institution:
  • Oxygen and its administration.
  • Blood transfusions including the cost of the blood.
  • Services of registered graduate nurses, licensed practical nurses or registered nursing assistants (other than members of your family or the staff of the Hospital or Convalescent Hospital).

       Note: Nursing services provided in the Hospital are not covered.

  • Rental or purchase of wheelchairs or electric mobility scooters up to a combined $2,000 lifetime maximum.
  • Rental of hospital beds, iron lungs or intermittent positive-pressure breathing machines. (Individual consideration may be given by the Trustees to the purchase rather than rental of eligible equipment, as well as to the expenses incurred in its repair or adjustment.)
  • Splints, trusses, braces, orthopedic back supports, crutches, casts, artificial limbs and eyes and hair prosthesis.
  • Elastic support stockings purchased from a recognized surgical supply house up to a maximum of $100 in a calendar year. To be eligible, elastic support stockings must be recommended by a licensed doctor (M.D.) or podiatrist, provided the stockings have a compression value of at least 20 to 30 mmHg pressure and are required to treat a diagnosed medical condition as determined by the Plan Administrator.
  • Insulin infusion pump (one per lifetime), payable at 50% of the eligible expense.
  • Orthopedic shoes which are an integral part of a brace or which are specially constructed for the patient, any modifications to such shoes. Orthotics are also covered. Orthopedic shoes and orthotics are covered up to a total maximum of one pair in a calendar year.

To be covered under the plan, orthopedic shoes and orthotics must be recommended by a licensed doctor (M.D.), podiatrist or chiropodist, custom made and specifically designed and molded for the covered person, dispensed by a certified podiatrist, chiropodist, pedorthist or orthotist and required to correct a diagnosed physical impairment.
Recommendation must include the diagnosis, symptoms and chief complaints. No benefit will be provided if the orthopedic shoes or orthotics are prescribed or dispensed by a practitioner other than those listed above. To avoid misinterpretation of what is eligible and what may or may not qualify as a covered expense, you must submit an estimate to the Plan Administrator for confirmation prior to the purchase.

  • Hearing aids obtained on the written prescription of a Physician certified as an audiologist up to a $1,500 lifetime maximum.
  • Paramedical claims for reimbursement must be accompanied by a written prescription from the attending Physician and a letter from the Physician setting out the diagnosis of the condition which requires the services or supplies for the following items (i) and (ii).
    • Services of a registered clinical Psychologist up to a maximum of $50 per treatment, not to exceed 50 visits in a calendar year.
    • Services of the following paramedical practitioners up to a maximum of $50 per treatment.  There is no limit to the number of visits  but subject to a combined maximum of $2,500 for all paramedical practitioners in a calendar year:
  • a legally licensed and duly qualified Physiotherapist, a registered Massage Therapist or Athletic Therapist where all or a portion of such treatment is not covered by a government plan;
  • a duly qualified Speech Therapist
  • a legally licensed and duly qualified Chiropractor, Naturopath, Osteopath, or Chiropodist/Podiatrist.  Note: These benefits are only payable after the yearly maximum, if any, has been received from your Provincial Government Plan.  X-rays, medicines, drugs, or dressings ordered by one of the above are not covered under the Welfare Plan.
  • a duly registered Acupuncturist for the treatment of sickness or injury, where all or a portion of such treatment is not covered by your Provincial Government Plan.  Note: In no event shall acupuncture treatment be covered if used as a remedy for smoking, alcohol abuse, diet control or other addiction problems.  Physician’s prescription is not required.
  • With approval of the Trustees, reasonable charges for the services provided by a Home Health Agency under the care and direction of a Physician on a visiting basis in the patient’s home, unless coverage is available under a provincial medical plan.

Note:

Homemaker services are not covered.


  • Vision Care –
    • Purchase, repair or replacement of lenses and frames for eyeglasses or contact lenses, or laser eye surgery, prescribed by a Physician or Optometrist up to a maximum of $400 every two calendar years.  Eyeglasses purchased (or repaired) for dependent children under age 14 at the date of purchase will be payable up to a maximum of $400 each calendar year.
    • In addition, if visual acuity of 20/40 cannot be achieved by eyeglasses and this is confirmed in writing by your Physician or Optometrist, a maximum of $550 is payable during the fifth calendar year following the year in which the last purchase was made towards the purchase of contact lenses prescribed by a Physician or Optometrist for severe corneal astigmatism or scarring. 

If written confirmation cannot be obtained from your Physician or Optometrist, your contact lenses will be covered in accordance with the coverage for eyeglasses in (a) above.

Charges for eye examinations, if not covered by a provincial health plan, up to a maximum of $90 every 2 calendar years.


 

   

READ CAREFULLY, BUT REMEMBER…

This is a general outline of the Plans and its purpose is to explain as briefly and clearly as possible each of the benefits to which you are entitled. The benefits outlined under the Plans are subject to the terms and conditions of the Plan documents and Group Master Policies. If there is any conflict between this outline and the Plan documents and Group Master Policies, the Plan documents and Group Master Policies will apply in all cases. Also remember that no benefits are guaranteed and that the benefits can be changed by the Trustees at any time.

 
FAQ's | Contacts | Table of Contents | Français

INFORMATIONS GÉNÉRALES
PLAN DE BIEN-ÊTRE
  FAITS MARQUANTS DE PRESTATIONS
  PERSONNES À CHARGE ADMISSIBLES
  DESCRIPTION DES PRESTATIONS
  ASSURANCE-VIE
  PRESTATION EN CAS DE DÉCÈS OU DE MUTILATION PAR ACCIDENT
  INDEMNITÉ HEBDOMADAIRE
  INVALIDITÉ DE LONGUE DURÉE
  PRESTATIONS DU RÉGIME COMPLÉMENTAIRE D'ASSURANCE MALADIE
  PRESTATIONS DENTAIRES
  URGENCE DE LA PROVINCE
  PROGRAMME D'ASSISTANCE AU MEMBRE ET À SA FAMILLE
  EXCLUSIONS GÉNÉRALES
  COORDINATION DES PRESTATIONS
  RENSEIGNEMENTS GÉNÉRAUX
  PAIEMENT DIRECT DE LA COUVERTURE
  PROLONGATION DES PRESTATIONS DU RÉGIME COMPLÉMENTAIRE D'ASSURANCE MALADIE ET DENTAIRE EN CAS DE DÉCÈS DE L'EMPLOYÉ
  PROLONGATION DES PRESTATIONS DU RÉGIME COMPLÉMENTAIRE D'ASSURANCE MALADIE ET DENTAIRE EN CAS DE DÉCÈS DE L'EMPLOYÉ
  ACCORD DE SERVICE SANS INTERRUPTION
  DÉSIGNATION DE BÉNÉFICIAIRE
  PRESTATIONS CONCERNANT LES RETRAITÉS
  ANCIENS SALARIÉS TERMINATED
  COMMENT SOUMETTRE LES DEMANDES DE RÈGLEMENT
  FIN DE LA COUVERTURE D'AVANTAGES SOCIAUX
  AVENIR DU RÉGIME
RÉGIME DE RETRAITE
AVANTAGES MEMBRES LIVRET
 

 

RÉGIMES D'AVANTAGES SOCIAUX ET DE RETRAITE

PLAN DE RETOMBÉES

ADDENDA AU LIVRET

En vigueur le 1er décembre 2014 : Soins dentaires d'urgence a été ajoutée au régime d’avantages sociaux.

Les dépenses admissibles pour un traitement dentaire nécessaire à la suite d’une blessure accidentelle aux dents naturelles, pourvu que l’accident soit survenu pendant que le participant était couvert et jusqu’à un maximum de 1 500 $ par année civile. Tel que déterminé par l’administrateur du régime, seuls les frais directement liés à une telle blessure accidentelle sont considérés comme une dépense d’assurance maladie couverte. Le traitement dentaire doit commencer dans les six mois suivant l’accident et il doit être complété dans les 12 mois suivant l’accident pour être considéré comme une dépense d’assurance maladie couverte (les enfants à charge sont exonérés de cette limitation, sous réserve de la réception d’un rapport écrit du dentiste décrivant le plan de traitement).
Remarque : Lorsqu’il y a plus d’une méthode habituellement utilisée et adéquate sur le plan professionnel de traiter une blessure accidentelle aux dents, l’administrateur du régime se réserve le droit de déterminer les dépenses admissibles en fonction d’une garantie de rechange, c.àd. que la couverture se limite au traitement de rechange le moins onéreux.

En vigueur le 1er juillet 2015 : La couverture des appareils auditifs est améliorée et passe de 1 500 $ à vie à 1 500 $ tous les cinq ans.

En vigueur le 1er mars 2016 : Ergothérapie est ajouté comme des frais paramédicaux admissibles
Services des praticiens paramédicaux suivants légalement autorisés et dûment qualifiés jusqu'à un maximum de 50 $ par traitement. Il n'y a pas de limite au nombre de visites, mais sous réserve d'un maximum combiné de 2 500 $ pour tous les praticiens paramédicaux dans une année civile:
Chiropraticien, Acuponcteur, Naturopathe, Massothérapeute, Thérapeute du sport, Ergothérapeute, Ostéopathe, Physiothérapeute, Orthophoniste, Podiatre ou Podologue.
Une recommandation d’un médecin est nécessaire sauf pour les services d’un acuponcteur.

(e)     Prestations du régime complémentaire d’assurance maladie (employés et personnes à charge)

Les dépenses suivantes du régime complémentaire d’assurance maladie sont payables à condition qu’elles soient considérées raisonnables et habituelles, qu’elles soient nécessaires dans le cadre de soins médicaux et qu’elles ne soient pas couvertes par votre régime d’assurance-maladie provincial, jusqu’à un maximum global de 25 000 $ à vie par personne couverte. Lorsque ce maximum est atteint, chaque personne couverte obtiendra un remboursement jusqu’à un maximum de 5 000 $ pour chaque année consécutive. Remarque : ces maximums ne s’appliquent pas aux prestations relatives aux médicaments sur ordonnance ni aux prestations des soins de la vue.

Les dépenses suivantes sont couvertes à 100 %, sauf indication contraire :

  • Prestations pour médicaments sur ordonnance

 

  • Les frais jugés raisonnables et habituels engagés pour les médicaments et les remèdes nécessaires du point de vue médical précisés ci-dessous.
  • Ces médicaments doivent être obtenus sur ordonnance uniquement d’une personne habilitée par la loi à les prescrire et préparés par un pharmacien, un médecin ou un autre professionnel de la santé agréé et autorisé par la loi provinciale à les délivrer.

Aucune prestation ne sera payable pour un achat unique de médicaments qui ne peuvent être utilisés d’une façon jugée raisonnable dans les 90 jours suivant leur date d’achat.

  • Dépenses de médicaments admissibles
  • L’ensemble des médicaments génériques et de ceux nécessaires au maintien de la vie
  • Les fournitures pour diabétique, telles que les aiguilles, les seringues, les bandelettes, les lancettes et les solutions
  • Pour les participants retraités de 65 ans et plus, le coût des médicaments sur ordonnance dépassant la somme payée par un régime d’assurance-médicaments provincial, y compris toute cotisation annuelle requise
  • Les produits de cessation du tabagisme seront remboursés jusqu’à concurrence de 75 % de leur coût pour un montant maximal de 500 $ par année civile
  • Les contraceptifs oraux

 

  • Médicaments génériques

S’il existe un substitut générique pour le médicament prescrit à la personne couverte, le régime d’avantages sociaux ne remboursera que le coût du médicament générique équivalent le moins cher, que ce soit le médicament d’origine ou l’équivalent générique qui a été acheté.

Si, pour quelque raison que ce soit, le professionnel de la santé de la personne couverte insiste pour qu’elle reçoive un médicament de marque déposée particulier, les mots « aucune substitution » doivent figurer sur l’ordonnance. La personne couverte obtiendra un remboursement en fonction du coût du médicament de marque déposée en soumettant la preuve que son professionnel de la santé a indiqué « aucune substitution ».

  • Coût des composants

 

Pour les médicaments énumérés dans le formulaire de prestations de médicaments provincial et les médicaments à utilisation restreinte, le coût des composants sera limité au prix courant du formulaire, plus une marge brute. Pour tous les autres médicaments, le coût des composants sera limité au prix pratiqué par les principaux fournisseurs de médicaments en gros dans la province applicable, plus une marge brute.

  • Frais d’exécution d’ordonnance

 

Il existe une limite de frais d’exécution d’ordonnance de 8,50 $ par ordonnance. Il existe une limite d’un seul bloc de frais d’exécution d’ordonnance par médicament d’entretien pour un approvisionnement de 90 jours. Un montant allant jusqu’à 30 $ sera remboursé pour les honoraires associés aux médicaments composés, solutions, crèmes et préparations. On appelle « médicaments composés » les médicaments spéciaux obtenus par le mélange de différents médicaments.

  • Exclusions concernant les médicaments sur ordonnance

 

  • les médicaments en vente libre ou pour lesquels aucune ordonnance n’est exigée par la loi (fédérale ou provinciale)
  • les médicaments utilisés pour faciliter la grossesse ou l’avortement.
  • les médicaments qui ne sont pas considérés nécessaires du point de vue médical, p. ex. les produits cosmétiques ou de perte de poids/style de vie, sauf s’ils ont été approuvés en vertu du régime d’assurance des médicaments sur ordonnance – procédure d’autorisation préalable d’Express Scripts Canada
  • les vitamines (injectables ou orales) sauf si elles exigent légalement une ordonnance
  • les tampons d’alcool
  • les médicaments qui sont fournis ou administrés par un médecin (sauf s’ils exigent légalement une ordonnance)
  • les médicaments subventionnés ou administrés par l’hôpital qui ne sont pas couverts par le régime d’avantages sociaux
  • les médicaments pour le traitement du VIH/sida
  • les dispositifs de contraception
  • Autorisation préalable
  •  
  • Une autorisation préalable pour les médicaments prescrits dans un but médical sera requise toutes les fois qu’il s’agit d’un médicament qui a de multiples fonctions ou pour de nouveaux médicaments mis sur le marché après le 1er janvier 2005. Une autorisation préalable sera exigée afin de s’assurer que le médicament est administré uniquement à des fins médicales, avant le paiement du médicament.
  • Une autorisation préalable sera également requise pour les nouveaux médicaments mis sur le marché. La personne couverte devra demander à son professionnel de la santé de confirmer que le nouveau médicament plus coûteux est nécessaire plutôt que les médicaments couramment prescrits. Une autorisation préalable sera nécessaire avant que de nouveaux médicaments soient remboursés dans le cadre du régime d’avantages sociaux.
  •  
  • Médicaments d’entretien
  •  
  • Ce sont des médicaments que vous ou votre personne à charge avez pris pendant au moins six mois et qui doivent être pris pendant une longue période en raison d’un problème de santé particulier. Voici des exemples de certains médicaments d’entretien : médicaments pour l’hypertension, le cœur et pilules pour la thyroïde.
  • Remarque : pour les médicaments d’entretien, le régime d’avantages sociaux ne couvrira qu’une fois les frais d’exécution d’ordonnance par période de 90 jours.
  •  
  • Remarque importante : Si vous (ou votre conjoint) êtes âgé de 65 ans et plus

 

Pour les résidents de toutes les provinces, à l’exception de la Nouvelle-Écosse et de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador : lorsque vous atteignez l’âge de 65 ans, vous devez adhérer au régime d’assurance maladie provincial pour la couverture des médicaments d’ordonnance. Toute partie d’une demande de règlement non couverte par le régime provincial de la personne peut être payée par l’entremise des prestations de médicaments sur ordonnance de ce régime conformément au règlement du régime d’avantages sociaux de l’industrie canadienne des constructeurs d’ascenseurs.
Dans les provinces où le paiement d’une cotisation est exigé pour maintenir la couverture en vertu du régime provincial d’assurance maladie, le régime d’avantages sociaux de l’industrie canadienne des constructeurs d’ascenseurs vous remboursera le coût de la cotisation exigée pour le régime provincial de remboursement des médicaments sur présentation, à cette fin, d’un reçu démontrant que vous avez effectué le paiement d’une telle cotisation.
Pour les résidents de la Nouvelle-Écosse et de Terre-Neuve‑et‑Labrador, un régime privé est le premier payeur; par conséquent, le régime d’avantages sociaux de l’industrie canadienne des constructeurs d’ascenseurs couvrira les frais de médicaments admissibles. Tout paiement de cotisation exigée pour poursuivre la couverture de régime d’assurance maladie provincial d’une personne couverte ne sera pas remboursé en vertu de ce régime.

  • S’ils ne sont pas couverts pas un régime d’assurance maladie provincial, les frais d’hospitalisation dans une chambre d’hôpital standard (chambre et pension seulement) pour une période illimitée.
  • Les frais pour les services ambulanciers professionnels pour le transport aller-retour à l’hôpital pour un séjour médical :
  • le service d’ambulance terrestre, lorsqu’il est médicalement nécessaire pour transporter le patient à l’hôpital le plus proche équipé pour dispenser le traitement médical requis
  • le service d’ambulance aérienne vers l’hôpital le plus proche équipé pour dispenser le traitement médical nécessaire lorsque l’état du patient empêche l’utilisation d’un autre moyen de transport et, si le patient nécessite les services d’une infirmière autorisée pendant le vol, les services d’une telle infirmière et son billet d’avion de retour.
  • Les frais pour les services fournis, sur ordonnance d’un médecin, par un hôpital de convalescence dans lequel un patient est transféré après un séjour d’au moins trois jours à l’hôpital en tant que patient admis (mais pas pour une réhabilitation ou des soins de garde).

 

  • Les frais pour les fournitures ou services suivants, prescrits par un médecin, sauf s’ils sont fournis par l’hôpital ou un autre établissement :
  • l’oxygène et son administration.
  • les transfusions sanguines y compris le coût du sang;
  • les services d’infirmières diplômées agréées, d’infirmières licenciées ou d’infirmières auxiliaires enregistrées (autres que des membres de votre famille ou du personnel de l’hôpital ou de l’hôpital de convalescence);

Remarque:

les services infirmiers offerts à l’hôpital ne sont pas couverts.

  • la location ou l’achat de fauteuils roulants ou de scooters électriques jusqu’à un maximum combiné à vie de 2 000 $;
  • la location de lits d’hôpital, de poumons d’acier ou de machines respiratoires intermittentes à pression positive. (Les fiduciaires peuvent évaluer de façon individuelle les possibilités de permettre l’achat, plutôt que la location du matériel admissible, ainsi que les dépenses engagées pour la réparation ou l’ajustement d’un tel matériel);
  • les attelles, bandages herniaires, attelles jambières, supports dorsaux orthopédiques, béquilles, plâtres, membres et yeux artificiels, et prothèses capillaires;
  • les bas de soutien élastiques achetés à un fournisseur de fournitures chirurgicales reconnu, jusqu’à un maximum de 100 $ par année civile. Pour être admissible, les bas de contention élastiques doivent être recommandés par un médecin (M.D.) ou un podiatre autorisé, à condition qu’ils aient un degré de compression d’au moins 20 à 30 mmHg et qu’ils soient requis dans le cadre du traitement d’un problème de santé diagnostiqué, sous réserve de la détermination de l’administrateur du régime;
  • les pompes à perfusion d’insuline (une à vie), payables à 50 % des dépenses admissibles;
  • les chaussures orthopédiques faisant partie intégrante d’une attelle jambière ou spécialement fabriquées pour le patient; toute modification apportée à de telles chaussures. Les attelages thérapeutiques sont également couverts. Les chaussures orthopédiques et les attelages thérapeutiques sont également couverts jusqu’à un maximum d’une paire par année civile.

Pour bénéficier de la couverture dans le cadre du régime, les chaussures orthopédiques et les orthèses doivent être recommandées par un médecin agréé (M.D.), un podiatre ou un podologiste, fabriquées sur mesure et expressément conçues et moulées pour la personne couverte, délivrées par un podiatre, un podologiste, un bottier orthopédiste ou un orthésiste et nécessaires à la correction d’une déficience physique ayant fait l’objet d’un diagnostic.
La recommandation doit comprendre le diagnostic, les symptômes et les motifs de consultation. Aucune prestation ne sera versée si les chaussures orthopédiques ou les orthèses sont prescrites ou délivrées par un professionnel de la santé autre que ceux énumérés ci-dessus. Pour éviter toute fausse interprétation de ce qui est admissible et de ce qui peut compter ou non comme frais couverts, vous devez soumettre une estimation à l’administrateur du régime pour une confirmation avant l’achat.

  • les prothèses auditives obtenues sur ordonnance écrite d’un médecin certifié en tant qu’audiologiste, jusqu’à un maximum de 1 500 $ à vie;
  • pour es demandes de règlement paramédical, les demandes de remboursement doivent être accompagnées d’une ordonnance écrite du médecin traitant et d’une lettre du médecin qui a établi le diagnostic de l’état qui nécessite de tels services ou fournitures.
  • les services d’un psychologue clinicien autorisé, jusqu’à un maximum de 50 $ par visite, limite de 50 visites par année civile;
  • les services des praticiens paramédicaux suivants jusqu’à un maximum de 50 $ par traitement. Il n’y a pas de limite quant au nombre de visites, sous réserve d’un maximum combiné de 2 500 $ par année civile pour tous les praticiens paramédicaux :
  • les services d’un physiothérapeute légalement autorisé et dûment qualifié, d’un massothérapeute ou d’un thérapeute en sport accrédité lorsque les frais du traitement en tout ou en partie ne sont pas couverts par un régime gouvernemental;
  • les services d’un orthophoniste dûment qualifié;
  • les services d’un chiropraticien, d’un naturopathe, d’un ostéopathe ou d’un podologue/podiatre légalement autorisé et dûment qualifié. Remarque : Ces avantages sont uniquement remboursables après que vous avez reçu le maximum annuel de votre régime gouvernemental provincial, s’il existe un tel maximum. Les radiographies, médicaments, drogues ou pansements exigés par un des professionnels mentionnés ci-dessus ne sont pas couverts par le régime d’avantages sociaux.
  • les services d’un acupuncteur agréé pour le traitement d’une maladie ou d’une blessure, lorsque les frais du traitement en tout ou en partie ne sont pas couverts par un régime gouvernemental. Remarque : En aucun cas les frais d’acuponcture ne sont couverts si les traitements visent à remédier à un problème de tabagisme, d’alcoolisme, de régime alimentaire ou d’autres problèmes de dépendance.  Une ordonnance du médecin n’est pas nécessaire.
  • Sous réserve de l’approbation des fiduciaires, les frais raisonnables payés pour les services rendus par une agence de soins à domicile qui sonne des soins à domicile au patient sous la supervision et la direction d’un médecin, à moins qu’ils ne soient couverts par un régime d’assurance maladie provincial.

Remarque : Les services de ménagères ne sont pas couverts.

  • Soins de la vue –
  • Un maximum de 400 $ par personne est payable pour l’achat, la réparation ou le remplacement de lunettes ou de verres de contact ou pour la chirurgie des yeux au laser prescrits par un médecin ou un optométriste pour chaque période de deux années civiles. Les lunettes achetées (ou réparées) pour les enfants à charge de moins de 14 ans à la date d’achat seront remboursées jusqu’à un maximum de 400 $ par année civile.
  • De plus, si une acuité visuelle de 20/40 ne peut être obtenue par le port de lunettes et si cette situation est confirmée par écrit par votre médecin ou votre optométriste, un montant maximal de 550 $ sera remboursable durant la cinquième année civile suivant l’année au cours de laquelle vous avez fait votre dernier achat de verres de contact prescrits par un médecin ou un optométriste pour régler un problème d’astigmatisme cornéen grave ou de cicatrisation.

S’il ne vous est pas possible d’obtenir une confirmation écrite de votre médecin ou optométriste, vos verres de contact seront couverts en vertu de la couverture pour lunettes à la section a) ci-dessus.

  • Si les frais pour les examens de la vue ne sont pas couverts par un régime d’assurance maladie provincial, un maximum de 90 $ toutes les deux années civiles sera payé.


 

   

VEUILLEZ LIRE ATTENTIVEMENT MAIS N'OUBLIEZ PAS QUE…

Ce livret décrit les grandes lignes des régimes et vise à expliquer aussi brièvement et clairement que possible chacun des avantages auxquels vous êtes admissible. Les avantages en vertu des régimes sont assujettis aux modalités des documents du régime et des polices maîtresses d'assurance collective. En cas de conflit entre cette description et les documents du régime et les polices maîtresses d'assurance collective, les documents du régime et les polices maîtresses d'assurance collective prévalent dans tous les cas. N'oubliez pas qu'aucun avantage n'est garanti et que les fiduciaires peuvent changer les avantages à tout moment.

 

 
FAQ's | Contacts | Table Des Matières | Anglais