GENERAL INFORMATION
WELFARE PLAN
PENSION PLAN
  RETIREMENT DATES
  CREDITED SERVICE
  AMOUNT OF PENSION
  PENSION BENEFITS AT OR AFTER DEATH OF A RETIRED MEMBER
  ADDITIONAL SUPPLEMENTARY BENEFIT
  APPLICATION FOR, AND PAYMENT OF, PENSION
  BREAK IN SERVICE
  NO BREAK IN SERVICE ARRANGEMENT
  DEATH BENEFITS BEFORE RETIREMENT
  TERMINATION BENEFITS
  EMPLOYMENT OF
A PENSIONER
 

DESIGNATION OF
A BENEFICIARY

  GENERAL PROVISIONS
  PENSION PLAN EXCLUDED FROM GROW-IN BENEFITS
  TERMINATION OF PENSION COVERAGE
  GOVERNANCE OF PENSION PLAN AND PENSION FUND
MEMBER BENEFIT BOOKLET
 

 

WELFARE AND PENSION PLANS

Pension Plan

GENERAL PROVISION

The Member Benefit Booklet is a general outline of the Plans and its purpose is to explain as briefly and clearly as possible each of the benefits to which you are entitled.  Should the pension legislation of your province of employment require different terms and conditions than outlined in the pension section of the Member Benefit Booklet, the terms and conditions of the province of employment will apply.

The benefits outlined under the Plans are subject to the terms and conditions of the Plan documents and the Group Master Policies. If there is any conflict between this outline and the Plan documents, the Plan documents will apply in all cases.

(a)        Pension Trust Fund

Contributions by Employees and Employers are paid regularly into a trust fund held by a corporate trustee and invested in accordance with the requirements of the Pension Benefits Acts.  Benefits from the Plan will be paid out of this fund either in cash or by means of pensions provided through the fund.

(b)        Members' Annual Pension Statements   

During the year you will receive a statement effective as of December 31 of the previous year showing your hours worked for which contributions have been made to the Plan, your annual pension earned to the statement date and payable from your Normal Retirement Date, your own contributions to the Plan with and without interest and other required information.

(c)        Assignment of Benefits

The purpose of the Plan is to provide you with an income after you retire.  For this reason you may not assign any of its benefits other than by naming a beneficiary or joint annuitant. The Plan does not confer on an Employee any right or interest in the benefits and the benefits cannot be surrendered except as provided in the Plan.

(d)        Future of the Plan

The Contributing Employers and the International Union of Elevator Constructors expect and intend to keep the Plan in force indefinitely.  However, the Trustees may change or modify the Plan from time to time.

If the Plan is discontinued, all moneys in the Trust Fund, after providing for the expense of the Plan, must be used for the benefit of Employees and their beneficiaries. Distribution will be made according to the terms of the Plan consistent with the Pension Benefits Act.

The Boards of Trustees in their sole discretion have the authority to suspend, delete, or terminate any benefit provided under the Welfare Plan and the Pension Plan, subject to applicable government regulations.  Any particular benefit payable at any particular time does not guarantee that such benefit will be provided for any specific period of time.  Any post-retirement benefits or benefits payable to disabled members may be suspended, deleted, or terminated at any time by the Boards of Trustees in their sole discretion.

(e)        Gender and Number

Unless the context otherwise requires, words in the singular shall be construed as including words in the plural and words in the plural as including words in the singular and words importing the masculine gender shall be construed as including the feminine.

(f)         Documents Considered As Proof of Age

The “best” proof of age is a birth certificate or baptismal certificate. If one is not available, then any two of the following pieces of identification can be used:

  1. Immigration papers
  2. Marriage licence
  3. Citizenship papers
  4. Passport
  5. Drivers’ licence




 

   

READ CAREFULLY, BUT REMEMBER…

This is a general outline of the Plans and its purpose is to explain as briefly and clearly as possible each of the benefits to which you are entitled. The benefits outlined under the Plans are subject to the terms and conditions of the Plan documents and Group Master Policies. If there is any conflict between this outline and the Plan documents and Group Master Policies, the Plan documents and Group Master Policies will apply in all cases. Also remember that no benefits are guaranteed and that the benefits can be changed by the Trustees at any time.

 
FAQ's | Contacts | Table of Contents | Français

INFORMATIONS GÉNÉRALES
PLAN DE BIEN-ÊTRE
RÉGIME DE RETRAITE
  DATES DE RETRAITE
  SERVICE DÉCOMPTÉES
  MONTANT DE LA PENSION
  RENTE AU DÉCÈS D'UN PARTICIPANT RETRAITÉ OU APRÈS SON DÉCÈS
  PRESTATION COMPLÉMENTAIRE ADDITIONNELLE
  DEMANDE ET PAIENT DES RENTES DMEE RETRAITE
  INTERRUPTION DE SERVICE
  ACCORD DE SERVICE SANS INTERRUPTION
  PRESTATIONS DE DÉCÈS AVANT LA RETRAITE
  PRESTATIONS DE CESSATION D'EMPLOI
  EMBAUCHE D'UN RETRAITÉ
 

DÉSIGNATION DE BÉNÉFICIAIRE

  DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES
  RÉGIME DE RETRAITE EXCLU DES DROITS D'ACQUISITION RÉPUTÉE
  FIN DE LA COUVERTURE DE RETRAITE
  GOUVERNANCE DU RÉGIME DE RETRAITE ET DE LA CAISSE DE RETRAITE
AVANTAGES MEMBRES LIVRET
 

 

RÉGIMES D'AVANTAGES SOCIAUX ET DE RETRAITE

RÉGIME DE RETRAITE

DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES

Ce livret décrit les grandes lignes des régimes et vise à expliquer aussi brièvement et clairement que possible chacun des avantages auxquels vous êtes admissible. Si les lois sur les régimes de retraite de votre province d’emploi exigent des modalités différentes de celles qui sont décrites dans la section sur les rentes de retraite de ce livret, les modalités de la province d’emploi s’appliquent. Les avantages en vertu des régimes sont assujettis aux modalités des documents du régime et des polices maîtresses d’assurance collective. En cas de conflit entre cette description et les documents du régime, les documents du régime s’appliquent dans tous les cas..

(a)        Caisse de retraite en fiducie

Les cotisations salariales et patronales sont déposées périodiquement dans un fonds en fiducie détenu par un fiduciaire de la société et investies conformément aux exigences de la Loi sur les régimes de retraite. Les prestations en vertu du régime seront tirées de ce fonds, en argent ou par l'entremise de rentes de retraite fournies par l'entremise du fonds.

(b)        Relevés de pension annuels pour les participants   

Au cours de l'année, vous recevrez un relevé en date du 31 décembre de l'année précédente indiquant les heures travaillées pour lesquelles des cotisations ont été versées au régime, votre rente de retraite annuelle accumulée jusqu'à la date du relevé et payable à partir de la date de votre retraite à l'âge normal, vos propres cotisations au régime avec et sans les intérêts, ainsi que tout autre renseignement pertinent.

(c)        Cession des avantages

Le but du régime est de vous procurer un revenu après votre retraite. Pour cette raison, vous ne pouvez céder aucun de ses avantages autrement qu'en nommant un bénéficiaire ou un corentier. Le régime ne confère aucun droit ou intérêt à un employé par rapport aux avantages, lesquels ne peuvent être cédés autrement que tel qu'il est stipulé dans le régime.

(d)        Avenir du régime

Les employeurs cotisants et l'Union internationale des constructeurs d'ascenseurs ont l'intention de garder le régime en vigueur indéfiniment. Toutefois, les fiduciaires peuvent changer ou modifier le régime de temps à autre.

Si le régime est résilié, toutes les sommes qui se trouvent dans le fonds en fiducie devront être utilisées au bénéfice des employés et de leurs bénéficiaires après le paiement des dépenses du régime. Elles seront distribuées selon les dispositions du régime conformément à la Loi sur les régimes de retraite.

Le conseil des fiduciaires peut, à sa seule discrétion, suspendre, éliminer ou résilier tout avantage offert en vertu du régime d'avantages sociaux et du régime de retraite, sous réserve des règlements gouvernementaux applicables. Tout avantage particulier payable à tout moment ne garantit aucunement qu'il sera offert pour une période de temps donnée. Toute prestation offerte après la retraite ou offerte aux employés invalides peut être suspendue, éliminée ou résiliée en tout temps par le conseil des fiduciaires, à sa seule discrétion.

(e)        Genre et nombre

À moins que le contexte n'indique le contraire, les mots écrits au singulier incluent les mots écrits au pluriel et vice-versa. De même, la forme masculine inclut la forme féminine.

(f)         Documents pouvant constituer une preuve d'âge

La « meilleure » preuve d'âge est un certificat de naissance ou un certificat de baptême. Si ces documents ne sont pas disponibles, deux des pièces d'identité suivantes peuvent être utilisées :

  1. documents d'immigration
  2. licence de mariage
  3. documents de citoyenneté
  4. passeport
  5. permis de conduire




 

   

VEUILLEZ LIRE ATTENTIVEMENT MAIS N'OUBLIEZ PAS QUE…

Ce livret décrit les grandes lignes des régimes et vise à expliquer aussi brièvement et clairement que possible chacun des avantages auxquels vous êtes admissible. Les avantages en vertu des régimes sont assujettis aux modalités des documents du régime et des polices maîtresses d'assurance collective. En cas de conflit entre cette description et les documents du régime et les polices maîtresses d'assurance collective, les documents du régime et les polices maîtresses d'assurance collective prévalent dans tous les cas. N'oubliez pas qu'aucun avantage n'est garanti et que les fiduciaires peuvent changer les avantages à tout moment.

 

 
FAQ's | Contacts | Table Des Matières | Anglais